# Thomas County Board of Education Minutes March 30, 2021, 6:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.

### **Attendees: Voting Members**

Mr. Charles Evans, Board Member Mr. Chris Hayes, Board Member Ms. Nancy Hiers, Board Member Mr. Mark NeSmith, Vice Chair Mrs. Leah Smith, Board Member Mr. Dan Stewart, Board Member Mrs. Kay Streets, Chair **Non-Voting Members** Mrs. Robin Cartright, Curriculum Director Dr. Dale Graham, Math Curriculum Coordinator Mrs. Carol Gerald, Administrative Assistant Mr. Joey Holland, Deputy Superintendent for Finance Dr. George Kornegay Jr., Chief Operations Officer Mrs. Erin Rehberg, Digital Learning & Media Services Coordinator Dr. Scott Sweeting, System Science Coordinator Dr. Lisa Williams, Superintendent

## I. Call to Order

- II. Invocation/Blessing Mr. Dan Stewart
- III. Pledge of Allegiance

### IV. Approval of Consent Agenda

- A. Agenda
- B. Fundraising requests
- C. Out-of-district students

#### V. New Business

- A. Executive session for property and personnel <u>Motion made by:</u> Mr. Dan Stewart <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Mrs. Leah Smith Voting: Unanimously Approved
- B. End executive session
- C. Property Purchase Approval Mr. NeSmith moved the Thomas County Board of Education approve the purchase of the real estate described as Address 48.75 A Hwy 84 Bypass, Thomasville, Thomas County, Georgia 31792, MLS Number 917038, Tax Parcel I.D. Number 045 255 under the terms and conditions set forth in that contract for the purchase of such real estate signed by Superintendent Lisa Williams, dated March 22, 2021.

Further moved that this Board ratify and affirm said contract and authorize Superintendent Williams to execute, on behalf of the board, any and all documents required in connection with the purchase of the real estate and to do any and all acts as she deems necessary and advisable to carry out the purposes and intent of the contract. <u>Motion made by:</u> Mr. Mark NeSmith <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Mr. Chris Hayes <u>Voting</u>: Unanimously Approved

- D. Purchase of Chromebooks and printers <u>Motion made by:</u> Ms. Nancy Hiers <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Mr. Dan Stewart <u>Voting</u>: Unanimously Approved
- E. Purchase of computers for Bishop Hall <u>Motion made by:</u> Mr. Charles Evans <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Mr. Chris Hayes <u>Voting</u>: Unanimously Approved
- F. Resolution for one time employee supplement <u>Motion made by:</u> Mrs. Leah Smith <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Ms. Nancy Hiers <u>Voting</u>: Unanimously Approved
- G. Resolution regarding video/scoreboard <u>Motion made by:</u> Mr. Dan Stewart <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Mr. Chris Hayes <u>Voting:</u> Unanimously Approved
- H. Custodial services recommendation <u>Motion made by:</u> Mr. Mark NeSmith <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Ms. Nancy Hiers <u>Voting</u>: Unanimously Approved
- I. Personnel Report <u>Motion made by:</u> Mr. Charles Evans <u>Motion seconded by:</u> Mrs. Leah Smith <u>Voting</u>: Unanimously Approved
- VI. Board Training and Staff Updates
  - A. Curriculum updates Mrs. Robin Cartright, Dr. Scott Sweeting, Dr. Dale Graham, and Mrs. Erin Rehberg
  - B. Budget updates Mr. Joey Holland
  - C. Facility updates Dr. Dusty Kornegay
  - D. Board member Ethics Review and legislative updates Mr. Bill Sampson
- VII. Adjournment

Motion made by: Mr. Charles Evans Motion seconded by: Mr. Chris Hayes Voting: Unanimously Approved